GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 8 October 2010.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

9. Minutes - 2 July 2010 (Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 2 July 2010 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

10. Panel meeting dates in 2011 (*Item A4*)

The Panel noted the following meeting dates in 2011:-

Friday, 11 February 2011; Friday, 29 April 2011; Friday, 1 July 2011; Friday, 7 October 2011; and Friday, 2 December 2011.

11. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) The Head of Governor Services reported that the attendance given for Mr B Naughton at meetings of the Governing Body at Victoria Road Primary School was 72% rather than 64% as had been reported to the previous meeting. The Panel therefore agreed to his appointment.

(2) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mr A Ellis to the Governing Body of Dartford Grammar School for Girls as the Head Teacher had written a letter explaining the reason for his low attendance rate and because his attendance had been 83% prior to his previous re-appointment in 2005.

(3) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mrs P Marshall to the Governing Body of Madginford Park Junior School because it considered that her attendance was likely to improve and due to the very strong recommendation of the Chairman of the Governing Body.

(4) The Panel noted the following appointments to governing bodies made under delegated powers in consultation with the Chairman:-

- (a) Mrs J Crampton Dymchurch Primary School;
- (b) Dr J Sexton Ramsgate, Christchurch junior School;
- (c) Dr P Troke Ramsgate, Christchurch Junior School; and
- (d) Mr D Law Wrotham School.

(5) The Panel agreed all the Late Submissions set out in Appendix 1 of the report. It also agreed to the re-appointment of Mr M Webb to the Governing Body of Upton Junior School upon being advised of his satisfactory Late Submission arriving after publication of the agenda papers.

(6) RESOLVED that the appointment of Authority Governors in primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 11 of the Minutes refers)

1. PARTNERSHIP : AS1 ASHFORD

School

Aldington Primary School The Norton Knatchbull School Victoria Road Primary School

2. PARTNERSHIP: ASHFORD RURAL

School

High Halden CEP School Tenterden Infant School

3. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY

School

Adisham CEP School Chaucer Technology School

4. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY COASTAL

School

Swalecliffe Community Primary School

5. PARTNERSHIP: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD

School

Sandhurst Primary School Cranbrook School

6. PARTNERSHIP : DARTFORD EAST

School

Darenth Community Primary School Darenth Community Primary School Hartley Primary School Langafel CEP School

7. PARTNERSHIP : DARTFORD WEST

School

Dartford Grammar School for Girls St Albans Road Infant School

8. PARTNERSHIP: DEAL AND SANDWICH

School

Goodnestone CEP School The Downs CEP School Mrs C McMeekin D

Appointee Mr J Cunningham Mr D Knight

Appointee

Mrs J Webster Mrs J Roberts Mr R Brindle Mr C Brook

Appointee

Mr A Ellis Mrs S Hudson

Appointee

Mrs S Beacham Mr M Eddy

Mr I Upton Mr R Fraser

Appointee

Mr B Naughton

Appointee Mr G Parkin Mrs J Baker

Appointee

Appointee

Mrs S Taylor

Mr A Parsons

9. PARTNERSHIP: DOVER

10. PARTNERSHIP: GRAVESHAM

School

Istead Rise Primary School

11. PARTNERSHIP: MAIDSTONE 1

School

Bower Grove School St Margaret's CE School Yalding St Peter and St Paul CEP School

12. PARTNERSHIP: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

School

East Borough Primary School Five Acre Wood School Greenfields Community Primary School Park Way Primary School

13. PARTNERSHIP : MALLING

14. PARTNERSHIP : SEVENOAKS SOUTH

School Edenbridge Primary School Otford Primary School

15. PARTNERSHIP : SHEPWAY 1

16. PARTNERSHIP : SHEPWAY RURAL

School Hythe Bay CEP School Lympne CEP School

17. PARTNERSHIP : SWALE RURAL

School

Lansdowne Primary School Ospringe CEP School Sittingbourne Community College

18. PARTNERSHIP : SWALE URBAN

School

Newington CEP School

Appointee Mr J Warren

Appointee

Mr A Perry Mrs H Reeve Mrs J Raikes

Appointee

Mrs C Head Mrs L Iannidinardo Mrs C Elcombe Mrs P Marshall

Appointee Mr R Cumes

Mr B Finn

Appointee Mrs L Bell Mr A Garcia

Appointee

Mrs K Shires Mrs P Williamson Mrs E Jordan

Appointee Mrs C Russell

19. PARTNERSHIP : SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

School Crockenhill Primary School Furness School

20. PARTNERSHIP : THANET 1

School

Ursuline College, Westgate on Sea

21. PARTNERSHIP : THANET 2

School

Chilton Primary School Dame Janet Community Infant School St Mildreds CP Infant School The Foreland School Upton Junior School

22. PARTNERSHIP : TONBRIDGE

23. PARTNERSHIP: TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Langton Green Primary School St James's CE Junior School School

24. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

PRU

Swanley and District Centre Class Management Committee

Appointee

Mr K Waller Miss J Kang

Appointee Mrs S Gowler

Appointee

Mr R Macfarlane Mrs T Johns Mrs A Butt Mr A Keevil Mr M Webb

Appointee

Mr J Davies Mr A Phillips

Appointee

Mr A Copas

This page is intentionally left blank